Dreams for the Year Ahead

Yesterday night I arrived in San Francisco…just about.

At the airport I had to go through one final immigration control point, like everyone else, and I didn’t make much of it. When I finally got to the desk, the officer looked less than friendly. Without much ado he sent me to the secondary inspection area. My heart was racing. It felt like my year ahead was hanging on a thread. However, after what felt like an eternity of waiting in an empty and nervously quiet interrogation area, I finally got the stamp that I needed and was allowed to proceed. Yay! 

The journey on the plane was pleasant and went quickly. I had time to make notes about things I need to do in the next week as well as reflect on what my goals and dreams for the year ahead are going to be. I concluded the following:

  • My dream is to have a positive impact on the world. To change it for the better. I don’t know how I will go about realizing this dream but knowing what I want to do is a start.
Cheshire Cat

“Would you tell me, please, which way I ought to go from here?” Alice asks the Cheshire Cat in Lewis Carroll’s novel Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland. “That depends a good deal on where you want to get to,” said the Cat. “I don’t much care where -,” said Alice. “Then it doesn’t matter which way you go,” said the Cat.

  • Considering that the programme I am on teaches entrepreneurship (with all of its monthly founder meet sessions and mentorship provided)  my goal MUST be to start a company…and get 100 customers.
  • Considering my role with LoopUp is that of a ‘Product Management Intern’ my goal MUST be to become a competent Product Owner.

My dream and goals are not yet very specific. I found it hard to put down in words something more concrete at this point, and I expect I will refine them in the next month. I think for now they give me a good heading North.

Its now 6:50AM and I am about to get ready for a fun day of paperwork and meeting our first in a series of founders, Mark Dwight. He is the founder of Rickshaw Bags. We will not only have the opportunity to interact with Mark, but I am also told that we may receive one of those cool looking bags each!

My next post will be about the Hacker House I’m staying at.

A self fulfilled prophecy…but it I like it
One thought on “Dreams for the Year Ahead

Leave a Reply

